You Don’t Know Unless You Go

I haven’t been riding much lately.  To add insult to injury, while most everyone has been at home all week playing in the snow, I have been dutifully braving the elements to go to work.  Worse, MS was traveling by truck up and down the east coast.  Needless to say, we were experiencing a tad bit of cabin fever.  MS tossed out the idea to go check out Powhite Park, but it almost didn’t happen.

MS:  😦 Yeah so I went out and did an assessment of the snow and yard.  I’ve reconsidered, as much as I’d like the trails to be clear of snow who am I kidding, probably all trampled by foot traffic and all ice like.  I am so bummed.

ME: I was just about to text you to say I would be down.  I’m not real hopeful, but you don’t know unless you go.  Then again, I could be talked into staying in and drinking coffee.

MS: Hey if you are down its worth a try, could be hilarious.  How bout we check weather in the am and head out mid to late morning?  I’m in no hurry.  We can look at coffee on the trail or post ride.

ME: Might be the best 10 minute ride of the winter.  Hey, guess what I just did?

MS:  True, positive thinking, great!  What did you just do? Let me guess, cracked a beer.

ME: Well, yeah, but I also plugged up my video camera.

MS: Fantastic.  I just cracked a Tecate myself.  Depression was setting in so thought I’d reminisce a bit, you know, smile about our trip.

We arrived at Powhite to an empty parking lot save for the white van that has taken up residency.  Dropping in was quite an adventure of its own.  To our surprise and delight, some of the main outer loop had been “groomed” by what appeared to be someone dragging a weighted sled.  Other sections were only trampled by feet, and finally we found our way onto some of the inner network of trails that were  completely untouched.  Fresh pow!

It was slow going and we came up just shy of 5 miles total, but it was a good workout and so much fun!  And it almost never happened.  After the ride, MS and I couldn’t remember a time when we regretted going for a ride.  It just goes to show, you’ll never know unless you go.

end of rock garden

end of rock garden

fresh pow

fresh pow

Old Chub goes good with snow

Old Chub goes good with snow

camp

camp

waiting patiently

waiting patiently

cuz I'm happy

cuz I’m happy

new bridge

new bridge

until next time

until next time

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

