Durango to Moab: Day 1

It’s been over 2 months since a group of eight of us wrapped up our 7-day journey through the San Juan Mountains traversing from Durango, CO to Moab, UT. 

The astute reader knows that I can be a bit verbose, so wrapping my head around how I was going to summarize the trip was a challenge.  I finally surrendered to the realization that I will never be able convey in writing the most amazing and difficult mountain biking trip experience of my life (so far).

Following are pictures and video from Day 1, which followed a portion of the 500-mile Colorado Trail from Molas Pass near Durango to Bolam Pass.  While our total mileage for Day 1 was the lowest of the trip, it was the longest (~12 hours) and, for me, most difficult day of the trip as we were above 10,000 feet for most of the day. 

I was sucking wind, and felt like I pushed my bike as much as I rode it.  By the end of the day, I was wondering what I had gotten myself into…

ahhh, the Colorado Trail

ahhh, the Colorado Trail

onward

onward

umm, yup

umm, yup

not the last snow pack we'd see

not the last snow pack we’d see

don't look down

don’t look down

well above tree line

well above tree line

sucking wind

specks up & to the right — sucking wind

the crew at 12,000 feet

the crew at 12,000 feet

descent

descent

falls

falls

cave

cool rock formation

bridge view

bridge view

view from the hut

view from the hut

(click HD for high-def)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Durango to Moab: Day 1

  1. White says:

    Sweet pics!
    Sweeter vid!
    Sweetest trip!

  2. hamten says:

    Love it, man. The video gives it a good feel – hell of a day. Well done!

  3. Lucas says:

    nice work, a crazy experience I will NEVER forget!!

Leave a Reply

