Beer Review: Hardywood Bourbon Sidamo

I thought I would try something new. As you have probably guessed by now, it’s a beer review.

Disclaimer: while I enjoy trying new and different craft brews, I am far from a discerning critic, so don’t assume I know what I am talking about. However, I can tell you what I like and what I don’t (which is rare!). With that said, here we go. First up…

Hardywood Bourbon Sidamo
Imperial Coffee Stout Aged in Bourbon Barrels
10.3% ABV

After my first sip, I exclaimed, “Wow!” to no one in particular. It was a good wow and a bad wow. It had a pretty strong bourbon taste, which can turn me off, but somehow I was still intrigued. After a few sips, my palate grew accustomed to the initial punch, the slow burn and the malty chocolate goodness.

This is not a session beer. I sipped on the 750 ml for close to two hours while reading the latest issue of Bunyan Velo, which got me plotting and planning another adventure. But I digress.

I have not been a strong proponent of bourbon beers in the past, but maybe they are growing on me. Heck, there was a time in my past when I didn’t like IPA’s, but I got over that. If you like bourbon stouts, or even if you don’t, I say give this one a try. If you are from the RVA area, you will be supporting a local brewer and coffee roaster (Lamplighter Roasting Company).

Sorry I don’t have any pictures. I didn’t plan to write a review.

Cheers. Oh, and happy trails.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

