Much Needed Therapy

It’s been a long two weeks since the 4TotA descended upon Rocky Knob and the trails of W. Kerr Scott Reservoir in NC.  While it was an awesome time, I’ve only had one ride since, and it was with my boy.  Don’t get me wrong, I love getting a ride in with my son, but it’s not the same.  If you know what I mean.  And I think you do.

After a  L O N G  week at work and with an ominous weekend approaching, I loaded up my bike determined to end the work week with a much needed ride in the woods.  It was time for some much needed therapy.  Due to the rain earlier in the week, I decided on Powhite Park because it drains better than other local trails and recovers from rain storms pretty quickly.

I had barely started when I pulled over, parked the bike, and explored a little.  It’s amazing what lurks right beneath your nose, but is often missed as you go barreling down the trail.

As I approached the creek, I startled a mama & her ducklings. Unfortunately, they scurried upstream before I could get the camera ready.

marshy

After exploring a little, I sat on this rock, ate a snack, and enjoyed a glorious afternoon before getting back on the trails.

Once back on the bike, I took yet another quick detour from the trails — I exited the rear of the park to do some paved road reconnaissance.  Finally, I found my way back to the trails.  I made my way around one full outer loop and then started zig-zagging my way through the interior trails.  I continued to stop on occasion intent on taking in just a little more than usual.

one of the low-key entrance points to the park

some of Powhite's rooty goodness

smooth

picture perfect

With Spring getting into full swing combined with recent rains, Powhite is greening up.  In some places she is trying to reclaim the trail.

Powhite going green

beavers!

I saw a few other riders out and the older gentleman and his dog Star that we often run into.  At one point, I was down by the swamp (near the beaver activity) and saw a guy riding high up on the hill.  It was cool to see him cutting through the woods from that perspective.  All in all it was pretty quiet out there.  It was Friday night and I guess some people have other priorities.  And that suits me just fine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Much Needed Therapy

  1. White says:

    Very nice!

  2. Teal MF says:

    love it… nice documentation. Yous guys are hard core.
    I ride 26 (for the moment).
    _teal

Leave a Reply

